way of a billiard room when McMullen and Bryant appeared and without warning shot him down with a load of buckshot. A bystander named Huffham, who was inside the building, rushed to the aid of Yeomans and was also shot down. Yeomens died, but Huffham recovered. Bryant escaped. McMullen was captured and put in jail in Tallahassee. His mother was allowed to visit him in jail and on one of these visits she and her son exchanged clothing and McMullen walked out and escaped. Neither Bryant nor McMullen was ever brought to trial, and one of them afterward came to Jacksonville and made this his home.

After the war Jacksonville was continuously occupied by Federal troops until April, 1869. In this period, while there seems to have been a sort of civilian police patrol, the military Provost Marshal and Guard were really in charge of the town and it was not until the second term of Mayor Hopkins, in 1869, that police protection became altogether a civilian matter. Until 1888 the Marshal was the head of the Police Department; his services, however, included duties connected with nearly every department of the town government. In 1871, the position of Captain of Police was created. This officer was directly in charge of the police force. The Marshal was elected yearly by the electors, and the Captain of Police was appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council.

List of Marshals and Captains of Police

Mayor in	Marshal	Capt. of Police
Office.	(Elected)	(Appointed)
1869—Hopkins	W. S. Rawson	
1870—Jones	R. P. Moody	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
1871—Jones	R. P. Moody	I. N. Divine
1872—Jones	E. Fortunet	I. N. Divine
1873—Greeley	E. Fortune†	James Hoey
1874—Jones	E. Fortune†	James Hoey
1875—Jones	John Tyler	James Hoey
1876-McConihe	John Tyler	James Hoey
1877—Boyd	P. E. McMurray	W. S. Rawson
1878—McConihe	G. H. Mayst	W. S. Rawson
1879—Jones	G. H. Mayst	W. C. Cooper
1880—Dey	G. H. Mayst	W. C. Cooper
1881—Dzialynski	G. H. Mayst	John Tyler
1882—Dzialynski	John Tyler	W. D. Vinzant
1883—Dancy	John Tyler	W. D. Vinzant
1884—Dancy	W. D. Vinzant	John Tyler
1885—Rice	W. D. Vinzant	W. F. Ivers
1886—McQuaid	John Tyler	John Keefe
1887—Burbridge	T. B. Hernandez	G. M. Brittain